top of page

Kaylee, Makeup Magician, Raleigh RAW Artist


I just love this girl, I met Kaylee a few years ago in Raleigh, NC. We both where attending a convention called Animazement. Animazement is a convention for fans of anime, manga, video games, cosplay, comics and so much more....

I was shooting with a client when they asked me if i would get a few shots of their friend. I said "sure i love to". Next thing i know this awesome woman with a crazy face mask came from around the corner.

I was taken back because of the stunning red eyes, Even though they were only contacts. We shot a few shots,i kept asking questions about what she was dressed like and what series she was from. Turns out if was from something called Tokyo Ghoul. She was genderbent version (genderbent is when a person cosplays as a male or female character but in the opposite gender)of one of the characters. I thought it was pretty cool. And had fun talking with the group about the show. And she killed her part of the photoshoot.

Her skills in makeup manipulation really impressed me. She can do blood, gore, horror as well as beautiful princess makeup. I had the chance to work with her this past year. When she told me what she wanted to shoot i was thrilled. Kida from the movie Atlantis and a Mad Max inspired outfit.

Check out the Gallery for a few of my favorite photos from the shoots.

So i recently messaged Kaylee to get some questions i have been wandering about answered. And to let everyone get to know this amazing lady.

Q: What made you decide you wanted to do makeup?

A: Well I just naturally gravitated towards it. I really enjoyed the different colors and elements that makeup allowed for and at the end of the day you can just wipe it off and try again if you ever mess up or anything. It just started out with simple everyday makeup then I got into different products and realized I can do so much more than just simple daily makeup.

Q: What is your favorite type of makeup to d?

A: I really enjoy doing more experimental makeup, with different color placement and designs along the face. Glitter/gems/pearls etc. SFX might be my ultimate favorite but I'm still learning in that field.

Q: Did you go to school for it?

A: I did not go to school for it, but this semester I am taking a stage makeup class which is my first class on makeup ever, but it's still different that what I do since it is for theater so it's bigger and bolder for a further away audience.

Q: What advice do you have for someone who wants to get into makeup?

A: Just do what makes you happy! play and experiment with different products and placement, and don't worry necessarily about being "conventionally beautiful" makeup is fun and should stay fun.

Q: Do you do makeup for a living?

A: I do not do makeup for a living but that would be amazing if i could.

Q: Do you have any hobbies besides makeup?

A: Hobbies, are going to conventions and being a part of that community, and then just doing personal art in my spare time.

Q: I haven't really thought about it in a serious sense so at this moment in my life probably not.

Kaylee is also a talented artist. And was featured last month in the Raleigh Raw Artist Showcase.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page